Tags

, , ,

I have this theory that there’s no such thing as freedom. No, I’m not a pessimist or nihilist. I merely contemplated the origins of our desires and decisions.

When a man thinks he freely chooses his wife, he’s only following his sexual instincts and forces of physical attraction, nothing shameful just true. When a mother thinks she freely chooses what to cook for lunch, she’s merely blending into the bureaucratic system of time where she ‘feels’ this meal hasn’t been cooked for so long so it sounds new. Even when a young infant thinks he loves his parents, he’s only dealing with what he has found on Earth awaiting him.

It may seem that such a theory is pure nonsense when it comes to greater issues of choosing one’s beliefs, for example. One may defend his religion fervently saying, I was absolutely free to become a Buddhist and am fully convinced of its teachings. However, if that person was born in Asia, specifically China or Thailand, he/she’s more influenced by the religious climate and abundances. Same with a Christian from South America or a Muslim from Saudi Arabia. It becomes more about the availability of choices rather than complete freedom. If the Buddhist was born in Peru would he have still been a Buddhist?

The ever lasting debate of nature versus nurture is connected to this idea. Our behaviour and hence our decisions are based on both biological/psychological systems and environmental stimulation. Our instincts and our habitat. Our selves and our families.

But the problem is that the idea of freedom is deeply rooted in our minds and souls that I find it impossible to believe my own theory. How can we not be free? Freedom is too vital, is too beautiful, is too..true?

Image

Skeptic.

I don’t know, I can’t completely give in to my theory but I still hold my skeptic stance.

