Tags

, , , , ,

He wrote a speech for her, went by her grave at midnight and sat down cross legged with her favorite flowers from the garden where they used to sleep together.

He was speechless for the first few moments, breathless, and crying. His tears flew from his eyes and landed onto the beautiful petals of the flowers and her petals.

He didn’t wipe his tears. He let them go free for they deserve a freedom from him and unto her. She deserves flowers and tears and poetry. But all he had was a speech he wrote in the garden where they used to sleep together.

He wrote:

I am an elephant amidst the forest of your passions and I don’t know where to go but I don’t want to leave because you are a beautiful place.

I am a weed growing by your stem and I am sorry but I can’t help but embrace you because you are a graceful dancer.

I am a broken feather shivering on you during flight and I want to go with the wind but I can’t fall because you are the heavenly wings.

I am a dead page in the second half of your novel and I am ashamed but I can’t tear away because you are a brave book.

I am a crumpled scarf in your drawers and I am lost but I will remain buried within because you are a colorful wardrobe.

I am a stained sheet from the first time you cried and bled and I want to escape but I don’t want to find a way because you are the warmest bed.

I am an old curtain still standing in your light and your night and I want to wash away but I can’t walk away because you are a mesmerizing mosaic window.

I am a ragged carpet where you fainted after throwing up too many times and I want to cry it out but I can’t speak because you are the only fragrant bathroom.

I am a bead of sweat dancing helplessly on your forehead and I am pathetic but I can’t control myself because you are a perfect lake.

I am a final note that messes up your symphony and I am embarrassed but I can’t disappear because you are the ultimate music.

I am an elephant trampling your roses every day and I am out of words and I want to run away but I can’t because you are home.

He cried again and his last word dripped onto the beautiful petals of the flowers and her petals. He uncrossed his legs, tore his speech and left the flowers for her. He lied beside her and wished the earth would open up and let go of her body but it couldn’t because the underworld would be miserable without her. He lied beside her and wished the earth would open up and embrace his corpse but it can’t because the world would be poor without him.

They held hands.

The earth chose to do something else. It opened up all the roots it knew and sprang the garden where they used to sleep together.

Their garden.

