Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We had been married for seventeen years. And I still remember my heart and his words that sunrise, seventeen years ago. That sunrise we were walking in silence when he slowed down his pace and eventually stopped.

“YOU KNOW HOW THE UNIVERSE IS A MYSTERY?” he screamed.

Taken aback by his loud yet insane question, I stood in silence for a moment then muttered, “Yes.”

“YOU KNOW HOW THE UNIVERSE IS AN INFINITY?” he screamed once more.

“Some say so, I think,” I replied; in awe.

“YOU KNOW HOW ASTRONOMERS AND ASTROPHYSICISTS DESIRE TO EXPLORE AND UNRAVEL THE BEAUTY OF THE UNIVERSE?” he screamed, again.

“I can imagine.” I answered; loving his questions.

All of a sudden, he sat down on the pavement and crossed his legs, smiling. I don’t know why, but within me a force, powerful like the hands of an immortal clock and brave like dancing rain, drove me to sit down beside him.

He looked into my eyes for a long time, like no one ever did before. Then he lied down and faced the blossoming skies as it woke up in red. Sitting there in silence, I didn’t know what to do or say. I looked at his wondrous face as it gazed upwards into the universe.

Then we forgot time.

“I am ready to make you mine and explore your infinite mystery for life,” he said, in an almost silent, slow yet moving tone contrasting sharply with his earlier shrieks.

I sat speechless as ever with a heart fading into its thumping beats. I say nothing, I have nothing to say, I can’t say anything.

He sat up and faced me, looking into my eyes again, waiting.

“But I am no universe.” I finally spoke.

“Your eyes home stars. Your lips bed moons. Your face embrace galaxies. And when you smile, the universe shines into you, from you. You are not universe. You are why universe is.”

My cheeks shone suns and I rose.

Two weeks later, we got married.

Many speak of falling out of love and fading emotion but our love and us, like the endless galaxies, live.

Our garden is where we live, too.

In our garden we breathe. We fall in love every time. We make love forever. The desire to love never ceases for we always embrace our infinity like no death roams the world.

Every night we cook dinner of exotic taste, tonight is lava. Pasta erupting and brownies melting. We share every moment of the volcanic taste together. Afterwards we set our garden for the night. The night we fall in love again.

At midnight, I, in his arms, listen to his heart beats and breath. At midnight, he, in my arms, hugs my light. At midnight, we watch films and sleep to the sound of ethereal music as the credits roll. And we fall in dreams.

The universe never ceases to sing its mystery. Neither does he.

