Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was bed ridden all day and instead of sleeping, I decided to make something, anything! Despite my passionate love for sleep, I knew I had to abandon the pattern of escaping into dreamworld and do something different. I’m a med student and I’ve been enamored by the human body for years. I enjoy studying it and learning all about its mechanisms. One field which I find especially interesting is pathology: the study of disease. My interest in pathology drove me to approach the subject in a different manner than typically undertaken in academic environments. Since I’m a huge fan of art in all its glorious forms, I fused artistic expression with pathological manifestation.

The following are edited images of different human body organs afflicted by various diseases. I thought it would be meaningful to try and change the way we perceive illness by adding a blast of color to things like cancer and infections.

aapop1

Kid knees

abut1

Where babies come from

acbr1

The Master(mind)

adlun1

Deep breath

aeliv1

Liver dier

afcol1

This is where your poop lives

agint1

STOP GIVING ME SHIT

ahhrt1

Big heart

aipan1

Pancreatic labyrinth

ajpro1

Reach me rectally

 

