, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Artwork by Sonia Alins for the 24th Catalonia Latin American Film Festival

Artwork by Sonia Alins for the 24th Catalonia Latin American Film Festival

If you haven’t heard, let me tell you.

This year I decided to take matters into my own hands and create my own film awards.

Brace yourself for *drum roll* the first annual filmqueer Awards!


Why filmqueer? 

That’s my username on Letterboxd. And I like it.


What are the filmqueer Awards?

filmqueer Awards are my personal take on last year’s films. They are 1000% subjective with no specific criteria. I picked my FAVORITE films, not necessarily the best ones – the categories are all still dubbed Best but that’s only for the sake of practicality; a pragmatic misnomer.

There is a total of 14 categories. Each category includes a minimum of three and a maximum of six nominees. Some categories are classic, others original.

One original category is the Beyond Award category; it is similar to “special mention” except there are no nominees, only winners. As lame as that sounds, it is particularly important that I highlight these films because they may have been overlooked, underrated, or misunderstood and I reeeeally want more people to watch (or rewatch) these films. My perception of these films ranges from thrilling, to heart wrenching, to what the fuck. And it’s my pleasure to share them with as many people as possible.

I also eliminated the Best Director category and merged it with Best Film because…I can never really tell the difference, to be honest. In addition, I don’t have many technical categories (editing, sound mixing/editing, VFX, etc.) due to my limited knowledge of these fields. However, I hope that over the years I expand my knowledge to include more elaborate categories.

Nominations are listed below. The winners will be announced on April 28.

Note: Some of the nominees are officially 2016 productions but were released in my region later in 2017 hence their presence among my nominees.

Here we go!


filmqueer Awards 2018 – appreciating my favorite films of 2017

Best Film

Call Me By Your Name – Luca Guadagnino

Good Time – The Safdie Brothers

Personal Shopper – Olivier Assayas

Phantom Thread – Paul Thomas Anderson

The Florida Project – Sean Baker

The Handmaiden – Park Chan-wook


Best Leading Actor

Adam Driver – Paterson

Daniel Day Lewis – Phantom Thread

Joaquin Phoenix – You Were Never Really Here

Robert Pattinson – Good Time

Timothée Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name

Vince Vaughn – Brawl in Cell Block 99


Best Leading Actress

Brooklyn Prince – The Florida Project

Eili Harboe – Thelma

Jessica Chastain – Miss Sloane

Kristen Stewart – Personal Shopper

Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water

Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird


Best Supporting Actor

Barry Keoghan – The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Michael Stuhlbarg – Call Me By Your Name

Richard Jenkins – The Shape of Water

Steve Buscemi – The Death of Stalin

Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project


Best Supporting Actress

Catherine Keener – Get Out

Kirsten Dunst – The Beguiled

Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird

Lesley Manville – Phantom Thread

Sylvia Hoeks – Blade Runner 2049


Best Ensemble Cast


Get Out

I, Tonya

The Death of Stalin

The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)


Best Screenplay

Call Me By Your Name – James Ivory

Get Out – Jordan Peele

Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig

Phantom Thread – Paul Thomas Anderson

The Death of Stalin – Armando Iannucci

The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected) – Noah Baumbach


Best Cinematography

Alexis Zabe – The Florida Project

Anthony Dod Mantle – Trainspotting 2

Bojan Bazelli – A Cure for Wellness

Paul Thomas Anderson – Phantom Thread

Roger Deakins – Blade Runner 2049

Sean Price Williams – Good Time


Best Score

Alexandre Desplat – The Shape of Water

Hans Zimmer – Dunkirk

Jonny Greenwood – Phantom Thread

Jonny Greenwood – You Were Never Really Here

Oneohtrix Point Never – Good Time


Best Animated Film

Coco –  Lee UnkrichAdrian Molina

Mutafukaz –  Shôjirô Nishimi, Guillaume Renard

The Girl Without Hands – Sébastien Laudenbach

Window Horses – Ann Marie Fleming


Best Documentary

78/52: Hitchcock’s Shower Scene – Alexandre O. Phillipe

David Lynch: The Art Life – Jon Nguyen

Faces Places – Agnès Varda, JR

I Am Heath Ledger – Adrian Buitenhuis, Derik Murray

The Work – Jairus McLeary, Gethin Aldous


Best Foreign Film

Aloys – Tobias Nölle (Switzerland)

On Body and Soul – Ildikó Enyedi (Hungary)

Raw – Julia Ducournau (France)

Thelma – Joachim Trier (Norway)

The Handmaiden – Park Chan-wook (South Korea)

The Insult – Ziad Doueiri (Lebanon)


Best Directorial Debut

Columbus – Kogonada

Get Out – Jordan Peele

Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig

Manifesto – Julian Rosefeldt

Most Beautiful Island – Ana Asensio

Raw – Julia Ducournau



A Cure for Wellness – Gore Verbinski

mother! – Darren Aronofsky

Oh Lucy! – Atsuko Hirayanagi

Princess Cyd – Stephen Cone

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets – Luc Besson

World of Tomorrow: Episode 2 – Don Hertzfeldt